Thai green curry

We had some friends over for dinner last Saturday night. I wanted to make something tried and tested and also that can be prepared in advance so I made my thai green curry.

I had done a cooking course in Thailand 9 years ago (that makes me feel old) which including a lot of grinding and making pastes with a pestel and mortar. The food was lovely but labour intensive enough that I could only be bothered to do it again a couple of times once I got back. A few years ago I wrote down this recipe which is easy enough to always make a curry paste from scratch (or freeze half for next time. (I think this originally came from the BBC food website although I can’t find it on there again.)

You first need to make the curry paste, which is basically blend all the following ingredients (I use the hand blender):

6 green chillies
2 roughly chopped shallots (or one small onion – white not red)
a 5cm piece of fresh ginger, chopped
2 garlic cloves
a small bunch of fresh coriander (stalks included)
2 lemongrass stalks – chopped
1 lime – zest & juice
1 lime – zest
1 tbsp crushed coriander seeds
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp ground peppercorns
2 tsp thai fish sauce
3 tbsp olive oil

Once you’ve made the curry paste the curry is really easy:

– heat some oil and add half the paste (2-3 tbsp), 1 tbsp brown sugar and a stalk of bashed lemongrass – fry for a couple of mins
– add diced chicken, zest of 1 more lime and cook for a bit
– add 1 tin coconut milk (or 2 for 4 people), a good dash of fish sauce and simmer for 30 mins
– right at the end stir in another bunch of fresh, chopped coriander and squeeze over the juice of 1 lime

yum!

As we had guests over I also tried out a couple of new recipes for starters, both not mine so I will link to them on the BBC Good Food website:

Thai spinach bites – Once I made this mix I was worried that the lime and the ginger in them would be over-powering, but I followed the recipe to the letter and the balance was just right. The half chilli I put in was a little on the large side I think and they had quite a kick.

Fragrant Thai Prawns – These have also got a kick and are so tasty. We served both starters up with prawn crackers and I almost wish we had some bread to dip into the sauce left in the bottom of the bowl because it was so yummy. I’ll definitely make these again and again.

         

 

Published by

Christina Hunter

I'm a personal trainer who loves to cook and eat so I started a blog to share my food, recipes and experiences.

3 thoughts on “Thai green curry”

      1. So we finally tried it tonight, think it went ok for my first try! Eager to fine tune it though… I will add these notes for any other newbies with this recipe:
        – we have no blender so I just hand-chopped everything as finely as I could; you can get away with it although the texture is obviously different
        – a “bunch” of coriander is a bit subjective, and in mine I overdid it and the coriander was a bit overpowering.. so be careful!
        – I bought “Melissa officinalis” (Citronmeliss in Swedish) instead of lemon grass.. I only later found out they’re not the same thing. I totally had to improvise on the quantities but I think it made a decent enough substitute
        – we had it with brown rice but it was a mistake, the brown rice has a flavour of its own which really clashes with the delicate flavours in the curry!

Leave a Reply

