New Year’s Eve Tapas

We had some friends at our flat to see the new year in last Saturday, I wasn’t sure what to make as we didn’t want to make anything too heavy so I opted for tapas as a socialable food to share and so that people could eat as much, or as little, as they wanted.

Here are some of the dishes I made:

PIRI PIRI CHICKEN

This is a Jamie Oliver recipe – fry some skin on chicken skin side down until it’s crispy, then turn it over and cover in piri piri sauce, cover and leave to cook. To make the piri piri sauce simply liquidise 1 red onion, 4 cloves of garlic, 2 chillis, 2 tbs smoked paprika, zest of 2 lemons, juice of 1 lemon, 4 tbs white wine vinegar, 2 tbs Worcestershire sauce and a handful of fresh basil. I used 2 red chillis (although the recipe says birds eye chillis) but next time I make it I think I’ll used more, while it was really tasty, it wasn’t spicy enough for me.

STUFFED PEPPERS

Baby peppers stuffed with spinach, tomatoes and my new favourite cheese Applewood – which has a smoky paprika flavour.

Cooked in the oven until soft (around 40 mins)

LEMON CHICKEN

In our household we put loads of chilli into everything, but I realise it’s not everyone’s cup of tea so I cooked some chicken until white, then added some 250ml chicken stock and lots of lemon juice and zest of 1 lemon, covered and left to cook slowly. This is a recipe I just threw together so I wasn’t sure how it would turn out, but was pleasantly surprised by how tender the chicken was and although the sauce smelled quite strongly of the stock in the pan, the chicken tasted pleasantly lemony.

SPICY GRILLED PRAWNS

Another Jamie recipe – put uncooked prawns in an overnproof dish and add a knob of butter, a good glug of olive oil, a few sprigs fresh thyme, 1 tsp cayenne pepper, a pinch of ground cinnamon, 4 cloves of crushed garlic, 1/2 a chopped red chilli and half a lemon (squeeze the juice over and leave in the pan). Just put under the grill until the prawns are pink.

We’ve been making this ever since we saw Jamie make it on his 30-minute meals a year ago, the prawns are really lovely and spicy and the sauce is great for dipping in bread.

Other dishes we made which I don’t have pictures of included

CHORIZO cooked on a low heat in a frying pan with sliced onions and peppers and a a glass of white wine to simmer in.

SARDINES grilled with garlic, chilli, lemon and parsley.

CUCUMBER SALAD made with a chopped cucumber, balsamic vinegar, spring onions, red chilli, fresh mint, lemon juice and a dash of olive oil.

TOMATO SALAD with garlic, fresh basil and olive oil.

LAMB KEBABS marinated in harissa and grilled.

RICE cooked with saffron, cumin and lemon juice.

ROAST POTATOES roasted with some thyme and garlic cloves.

KANNOLI

Finally, for desert I brought some ready-made Kannoli shells over with me from Malta and filled them with rikotta sweetened with caster sugar and chocolate chips.

Most importantly for New Year’s Eve, plenty of bubbly to wash it all down.

Happy New Year everyone 🙂


Published by

Christina Hunter

I'm a personal trainer who loves to cook and eat so I started a blog to share my food, recipes and experiences.

One thought on “New Year’s Eve Tapas”

Leave a Reply

