Porridge with stewed apples

20120114-115501.jpg

This week I’ve read about 3 news articles on how good oats are for you – like this one in the metro. So here’s my post work out weekend breakfast made in 5 minutes in the microwave.

First ‘stew’ 1 apples by peeling and chopping, put it in a bowl with 3/4 of a teaspoon of ground cinnamon, cover loosely with cling film and put into the microwave for 2minutes.

Once the apple comes out put the porridge (approx 36grams with 180ml of milk) in the microwave for 1 and a half minutes, take out and stir, add the apples and put in for another 30 seconds.

Finish with a teaspoon of honey. This breakfast is tasty and filling, and with an apple includes one of your 5 a day.

Published by

Christina Hunter

I'm a personal trainer who loves to cook and eat so I started a blog to share my food, recipes and experiences.

6 thoughts on “Porridge with stewed apples”

  1. Love it Fatty, looks very tasty. I can also recommend adding some dried apricots, cranberries or other dried things to your milk and oats before you cook plain porridge – the cooking re-hydrates the apricots a bit and makes them nice and tender. When it’s cooked I add softer fruits like prunes or honey if it’s a treat day. The apricots are high in iron in case you are interested…

  2. I find the ‘stewed’ apples are a really good mid-morning snack at work too… I cut it up and sprinkle with cinnamon before I leave, then just heat it up when I’m about to eat it. You can add some sultanas too, they make it even sweeter 🙂

Leave a Reply

