Cassatella Siciliana – my first attempt

20120120-182347.jpg

We ate loads of lovely cassatella over Christmas so I thought I’d give making it a go..

Step 1 – make a sponge, leave to cool, cut into 2 slices
Step 2 – make sweet ricotta mix by adding sugar and chocolate chips
Step 3 – generously fill the 2 sponge slices with the sweet ricotta
Step 4 – cover with marzipan icing (shop bought in my case)

The verdict? The ricotta was lovely but the sponge slices were too thick. Also, as the ricotta is quite moist it would be better to use a dry sponge.

Overall, not a bad first attempt but could do better

Published by

Christina Hunter

I'm a personal trainer who loves to cook and eat so I started a blog to share my food, recipes and experiences.

2 thoughts on “Cassatella Siciliana – my first attempt”

Leave a Reply

