I heart chorizo

20120307-072528.jpg

On the weekend half way through the afternoon when you’re feeling hungry, or as soon you come home from work and can’t wait until dinner to be ready, our favourite quick fix at the moment is chorizo, cooked in a pan on a medium heat with some peppers and onion and a splash of white wine for the last couple of minutes – this takes less than 10 minutes, or the time it takes the onions/peppers to cook. Served above with some bread to dip into the tasty juice.

20120229-234251.jpg

My husband loves scallops, I usually make the tried and tested recipe of scallops with prosciutto and line dressing . Last weekend, Rich suggested making the scallops with chorizo.

So that’s what we did, I cooked the chorizo on a low heat to start so that the oil would be released, then turned it up and cooked the scallops with the chorizo for 2 minutes on each side.

I’ll be doing it again! These days I’m also thinking of putting chorizo with any white fish, chicken and chorizo salad, chorizo in a tomato pasta sauce…

Published by

Christina Hunter

I'm a personal trainer who loves to cook and eat so I started a blog to share my food, recipes and experiences.

6 thoughts on “I heart chorizo”

  1. I’ve almost replaced olive oil with chorizo as my standard cooking fat. Dry pan whack some chorizo in wait for it to release its oily goodness and then cook whatever it is you need to cook.

    I can’t reccomend cooking cherry tomatoes in chorizo enough – cook them low and slow with a bit of lemon juice and they become sweet balls of spicy tomatoey goodness…add some chicken breast and serve with pasta, or some butter beans and have with rocket and bread, veg for a stir fry the list goes on…..

    1. I know what you mean James, once you start thinking the possibilities are endless – thanks for the ideas, will probably do the cherry tomatoes this weekend.

      Do you think with Chicken and cherry tomatoes cooking in the oven would be alright?

Leave a Reply

