Herman the German Friendship Cake

20120310-153309.jpg

Today my friend Andrea passed me on the mix for a Herman the German Friendship Cake – how exciting! It a sourdough cake and it looks like it just needs stirring for a few days, hopefully it will grow so I can share it on day 9 and make my sourdough cake on day 10.

As there’s live yeast in the mix I’m keeping it in the airing cupboard to increase my chances of keeping it alive. So I’ll keep this post updated everyday with how Herman is doing, here’s a picture from day 1:

20120310-153935.jpg

Day 2
Herman is bubbling! Glad to see I haven’t killed him. Only job today was to stir.

20120311-175520.jpg

If you’re interested in German Hermans you might want to check out this place on Villiers street (by Charing Cross) – http://www.herman-ze-german.co.uk/

20120311-175949.jpg

Day 3
The instructions are to stir and cover, not much to blog about except the yeast is still alive and lots of bubbles:

20120312-211324.jpg

Day 4
Herman is hungry! I’ve added a mug of flour, a mug of sugar and a mug of milk, mixed, taken a bad picture (below – I need to think of better ways of taking pictures of a bowl of batter) and Herman is back in the airing cupboard with a damp dishcloth on top.

20120313-214047.jpg

Days 5-9
Not much happened on these days except some stirring, although every time I took Herman out he was bubbling nicely, like this:

20120320-072933.jpg

I’ve spared you another 4 pictures pretty much exactly the same, except for the last couple of days when there have been less bubbles and more slow foam- I hope this doesn’t mean Herman is dying (I forgot to stir on day 7!) and that it’s what’s supposed the happen.

Yesterday I added another mug each of flour, sugar and milk and now have split Herman into 4 and will pass 3 portions to friends today – I hope their reaction is good!

Day 10 – cooking Herman

Following the instructions, I added the below ingredients to the batter:
– 1 mug of caster sugar
– 1/2 teaspoon salt
– 2 mugs self-raising flour
– 1/2 mug vegetable oil
– 2 eggs
– 2 teaspoons vanilla essence
– 2 apples cut into chunks
– 2 heaped teaspoons cinnamon
– 1 teaspoon baking powder

Mixed all together well, and poured into greased baking tray. Then sprinkled with some melted butter, more ground cinnamon and sugar.

Baked in a pre-heated oven (180 degrees) for 45 minutes, and here’s the result:

20120320-224407.jpg

The cinnamon in the mix gave it a lovely sweet taste, which the apple added to, and also kept the cake nice and moist.

Published by

Christina Hunter

I'm a personal trainer who loves to cook and eat so I started a blog to share my food, recipes and experiences.

2 thoughts on “Herman the German Friendship Cake”

Leave a Reply

