Kwarezimal

 

20120313-122802.jpg

Kwarezimal are a traditional Maltese biscuit for lent, at a time when you’ve given up everything good you’re allowed these – I think because no animal products go into making them (traditionally you wouldn’t eat any meat throughout lent).

I’ve never actually made them before, at home it was always my mother or my brother who chose to. Seeing that I am now a blogger I asked my mum for her recipe and here’s my first attempt at making these almondy, chocolatey biscuits.

Here are the ingredients:
400g ground almonds
100g plain flour
100g brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon mixed spice
2 tbsp cocoa
Rind + juice of 1 lemon or orange
Honey

And to make them:
– Place all the dry ingredients together in a bowl and mix well.
– Add the orange juice and some water if necessary to make a stiff dough.
– Shape to about 1 cm thick.
– Place on baking sheet, leaving space for them to grow.
– Cut grooves on top and bake in a moderate oven (180 C) for around 20 minutes. (Careful not to overcook, they should still be soft when you take them out as they continue to harden as they cool.)
– Leave to cool completely,
– Spoon some honey on top and sprinkle with chopped almonds (or pistachios are nice too)

I substituted mixed spice for ground ginger (as I didn’t have any). I’d also recommend using orange for the classic and tasty chocolate and orange combination. Enjoy!

Published by

Christina Hunter

I'm a personal trainer who loves to cook and eat so I started a blog to share my food, recipes and experiences.

Leave a Reply

