Maze

For my birthday yesterday my husband took me to Gordon Ramsay’s Maze. We had a four course menu (if you have a la carte they recommend you order 2 or 3 dishes each) – which was 3 savoury and 1 sweet dishes.

The food is an interesting mix of British with asian flavours.

My first was salmon:

20120327-074526.jpg
The salmon – which I think was described as jasmine scented – was cut quite thick so felt quite meaty and the horseradish with the, albeit tiny, bits of beetroot, crunchy apple and radish really complemented the sweet salmon.

Next I had chicken:

20120327-075923.jpg
This was chicken and foie gras served with chutney and caramel.

Then, I think my favourite dish, pollock with clams, sprouting broccoli and a lemongrass sauce:

20120327-185725.jpg

By now we were getting full, but there’s always space for desert – course number 4 was a pineapple tarte tatin with the most amazing coconut and cardamom ice cream which took me back to India with the first mouthful.

20120327-222713.jpg

The waiting staff asked if we were there for any special occasion, and a little after I told them it was my birthday they came to the table with this:

20120327-223554.jpg

A really nice touch to a lovely evening.

Published by

Christina Hunter

I'm a personal trainer who loves to cook and eat so I started a blog to share my food, recipes and experiences.

One thought on “Maze”

Leave a Reply

