Fajitas

20120403-164810.jpg

We had these for dinner earlier this week. My husband did all the slicing of peppers, onion, a chilli, chicken breast and beef rump steak. I usually use a packet seasoning mix but this time I tried to make it myself.

To each meat type I added smoked paprika (2 tbsp), ground cumin (1 tbsp), ground ginger (1 tbsp), Tabasco Habanero (about 1 tsp) and a good squeeze of lime.

After stir frying the veg, I added the chicken to the pan and fried until cooked, also adding 3 cloves of crushed garlic at the same time. I try to add the steak at the very end so it’s still a little rare. Once I added the steak I added squeezed in the rest of the lime and a few more drops of the Tabasco sauce.

Served with warmer flour tortillas (in the microwave for 40mins), shop bought sour cream, salsa and guacamole, grated cheddar, shredded lettuce and some more lime wedges.

Published by

Christina Hunter

I'm a personal trainer who loves to cook and eat so I started a blog to share my food, recipes and experiences.

3 thoughts on “Fajitas”

  1. Unsurprisingly I Put chorizo in my fajitas too….works well! We invested in some cast iron skillets a few years ago which mean you can keep the contents hot at the table and serve them sizzling to guests which is always nice.

    Can’t reccomend Tomasina Miers (SP?) cook book mexican food made simple (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Mexican-Food-Simple-Thomasina-Miers/dp/0340994975/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1334071697&sr=8-1) for a great roasted tomato salsa recipe to go with fajitas.

    I normally buy an avocado and mix with some corianda and red onion some tabasco and maybe some chopped jalapenos for a simple Guacamole too….

Leave a Reply

