Guest post: Qarabaghli mimli

I’m very excited to be presenting to you my very first guest blogger – my cousin Dathan. Like me, he is Maltese living in England and this is a classic Maltese dish – his end product makes my mouth water!

“Up to a few months ago, I would have never thought I would be eating vegetables, let alone writing, or guest-blogging, about it. Then I don’t know why, but a few weeks ago I bought 4 marrows from the greengrocer. So I HAD to do something with them. I went for this dish that my Nanna Katie used to make (which I used to greedily half-eat by only having the stuffing) with some changes.

So, I bought four biggish marrows (qargha baghli) and cut them towards the top. I then “carved” them by scooping them and keeping the pulp for the sauce. The marrows where then boiled until they were softer – not too soft as I feel it’s better if there is some “bite” to them.

For the sauce, I first fry some finely chopped garlic and onions in olive oil. I then add the mince (beef or pork would do – or even both mixed) and the pulp from the marrows, also chopped. I then add Dolmio sauce for bolognese – purists can do their own sauce from scratch, but why complicate things?

The sauce needs to be quite watery – so I add water as required.

The sauce is finished by adding freshly chopped parsley, seasoning and chilli to taste – I use this very sparingly.

Then the fun begins – the sauce is stuffed into the marrows, stopping just below the top. I then finish this by topping up with grated cheese – I used cheddar, since this melts into the sauce. You could use Parmesan cheese for a bit more flavour. I place any left-over sauce at the bottom of the dish.

20120513-223536.jpg

I then put everything in a medium heat oven for 15 minutes or till the cheese melts. Again, I prefer it if the marrows aren’t too soft.

I serve them simply with some bread for dipping into the sauce. I guess you could serve with rice or even potatoes.

Voila – stuffed marrows a la Dathan”

20120513-223639.jpg

Published by

Christina Hunter

I'm a personal trainer who loves to cook and eat so I started a blog to share my food, recipes and experiences.

12 thoughts on “Guest post: Qarabaghli mimli”

  1. Prosit Dathan. One suggestion. You could eat them with roast potatoes (patata fil forn) or mashed. Very well done. Moira

  2. You don’t even need to boil them before Chris. I baked them for 1 hour and were cooked to perfection!

  3. I don’t boil them either. I don’t even use tomato sauce. I add bread crumbs, parmesan, parsley and some onion cut very thinly. I also add a dash of Worcester sauce. Parboil potatoes in slices. Place them in the bottom of a dish, place qarabali on top, a little bit of water and oil, pepper and salt. Cook in the oven for about 1 hr as Angela said.

    1. No need to par boil potatoes either. Cut into 1cm slices and they’ll cook beautifully! Less work! πŸ™‚

  4. Guest bloggers! This is a very exciting development! and a tasty looking dish which I will try next time a marrow crops up in my veg box!

  5. Christina it is good to see that someone is carrying on this cooking tradition, actually also making some changes to make it better. You can also try adding some minced bacon to the minced pork, not a lot but just to give it a better taste. Good luck with you experiments in the kitchen

  6. If I remember correctly my mum (Nanna Katie) used to add a beaten egg to the stuffing before filling the marrows. one of these days I will propose another of her recipes myself!!

Leave a Reply

