Greedy Italians’ braised beef in red wine

20120520-204213.jpg

Has anyone else been enjoying watching Antonio Carluccio and Gennaro Contaldo’s Two Greedy Italians on BBC? We watch it just getting hungrier by the minute, and when they made this braised beef last Thursday I thought I had to try it.

Here’s the recipe.

I’ve got a couple of learning points from my dinner. First is that your beef should be a bit fatty, mine had barely any fat running through it so was a little dry without the sauce. My sauce was also quite thin, so what I would do next time is take out the beef and reduce it on the hob before serving. Finally, we both thought this dish would taste lovely with some mushrooms added.

If you’re making the greedy Italians’ beef, let me know how it turns out!

Published by

Christina Hunter

I'm a personal trainer who loves to cook and eat so I started a blog to share my food, recipes and experiences.

Leave a Reply

