Back to baking

20120711-080326.jpg

I’ve had a bit of a blogging gap, sometimes other things in life like the day job just get in the way but this weekend I turned the oven on and got back to baking – starting with these rhubarb and strawberry tarts.

I’ll admit I cheated using ready made (and ready rolled) shortcrust pastry.

I always worry about rhubarb being bitter so I started sweetening it in the morning by chopping it into a bowl with the strawberries, a tablespoon of sugar and a split vanilla pod.

Once I’d put my cut out tart bases into a greased and floured cupcake tray with my brother who was visiting from Sweden we put half a teaspoon of strawberry jam in each and spooned as much rhubarb and strawberry mix on top as would fit.

As the oven was on while John was filling the tarts I tried the recently posted recipe by Frugal Feeding for gluten free coffee blondies. (I’d never actually heard of a blondie before so not sure if they’d usually have fluted in them?)

Mixture made, both went into the oven on 180 for 20 minutes.

20120711-082304.jpg

Published by

Christina Hunter

I'm a personal trainer who loves to cook and eat so I started a blog to share my food, recipes and experiences.

Leave a Reply

