Seabass with quick tomato salsa

20120712-080607.jpg

Thanks to Jamie Oliver’s interview in Tuesday’s Evening Standard I’ve learnt the secret to frying fish and getting a crispy skin…just leave it. Almost too simple and what I thought I did anyway.

So I put a pan on a high heat with a little oil and placed the seabass fillets in skin side down. Then, I left it and didn’t move the fish until it came away from the pan itself (like when a cake comes away from the sides of a tin when it’s cooked). This took a lot longer than I expected, I’d usually fry fish for a couple if minutes on each side but for crispy skin it needed a good ten minutes. So in food, as in life, good things come to those who wait.

To go with the fish, and considering what I had in the cupboard, I made a quick tomato salsa:
– fry a small onion (or shallot), a couple of cloves of minced garlic and half a chopped fresh red chilli on a low heat until soft
– add chopped tomatoes – I had a punnet of mixed ones and used them all – turn the heat in the pan to low
– add 1 teaspoon of sugar, 1 tablespoon white wine vinegar (red would be good too) and plenty of chopped fresh coriander
– cook for 5 to 10 minutes and it’s done

This salsa is also really good to make as a side dish for bbqs (lovely in a burger).

Published by

Christina Hunter

I'm a personal trainer who loves to cook and eat so I started a blog to share my food, recipes and experiences.

Leave a Reply

