Plaice with samphire and buerre noisette

20120730-072318.jpg

I used to work for a company called Samphire productions, so when I saw samphire while doing my weekly shop I thought I had to give it a go.

I can’t ever remember eating samphire before and I’ve definitely never cooked with it. All it needs to blanching in boiling water for 30secs-1min and a squeeze of lemon over it once you take it out.

I boiled it in salted water which may or may not have contributed to the samphire’s salty flavour – its like having a bite of the sea – and an excellent accompaniment to the fillet if plaice which fried skin side down until the flesh was white (about 5 mins) and turned over for 1-2 mins just to finish.

Giving the pan a quick wipe I put in a knob of butter and put the pan back on the heat, stirring until the butter turned brown and smells nutty, then taking it off the heat and adding in a squeeze of lemon and a handful of chopped parsley. This buerre noisette, as the name suggests, has a nutty buttery tastes with a little zing from the lemon cutting through and is a really quick and tasty sauce for white fish (my fish is swimming in it).

Published by

Christina Hunter

I'm a personal trainer who loves to cook and eat so I started a blog to share my food, recipes and experiences.

Leave a Reply

