Grilled octopus

20120806-074040.jpg
These are the 2 octopi (we all know it’s not octopuses) I got from the fish stall in Chelmsford’s Saturday market.

Octopus is a tough animal, you can’t just stick it on the grill, you need to tenderise it first. So after cleaning it by turning the head inside out and carefully removing the inside sacs (it’s quite stinky if you burst the wrong one) I simmered the octopi in salted water for an hour and a bit.

20120806-080052.jpg

I then transferred it to a pan, generously glugged olive oil over the octopus, along with the juice of half a lemon, 5 cloves of crushed garlic, salt, pepper and a little crushed chilli.

At the point, you could eat your octopus like this, or mix it into some spaghetti for a lovely octopus pasta, or turn it into a stew.

I put the octopus under grill until crispy (at the point I was wishing we had a BBQ, it would be so tasty grilled over coal) and served with chopped parsley, lots more lemon and crusty bread.

20120806-080143.jpg

Published by

Christina Hunter

I'm a personal trainer who loves to cook and eat so I started a blog to share my food, recipes and experiences.

4 thoughts on “Grilled octopus”

      1. A lot of recipes tell you to cook for a long time. In Jamie Oliver’s cook book he first fries it then covers and cooks for about 20 mins. I did it this way once and it cooked well. I’ll e mail the recipe to you when I have a minute.

  1. Prosit Christina. Do you know that I have never cooked octopus? I like it but somehow I am afraid that it will be too tough. I think I will try it. You make it sound so easy.

Leave a Reply

