Extra large misshapen mixed chocolate cookies

20120808-123124.jpg

Adapting Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything recipe for butter cookies, I made these chocolate chunk cookies yesterday. I’m not sure if there’s anything I can do to stop them merging into each other while cooking (except get a bigger baking tray) so I’ve just come to accept that my biscuit baking will never be professional but is very home made.

Here’s what I did to make 10 cookies.

Ingredients:

115g unsalted butter, softened
150g sugar
1 egg
125g plain flour
½ teaspoon baking soda
pinch of salt
Seeds from inside 1 vanilla pod (we went to India and I bought loads, otherwise I would’ve used 1 teaspoon vanilla extract)
Chocolate cut into chunks – I used a selection from our sweet cupboard, including white chocolate buttons, aero and dairy milk.

Steps:

– Heat the oven to 190°C (375°F).
– Cream together the butter and sugar. Add the egg and beat until well blended.
– Mix in the flour, baking soda and pinch of salt
– Stir in the vanilla and chocolate
– Put tablespoon-sized mounds of dough on a grease proof papered tray (Mark Bittman says 8cm apart, but my tray wasn’t big enough for that)
– Bake until lightly browned (about 10 minutes.)

Published by

Christina Hunter

I'm a personal trainer who loves to cook and eat so I started a blog to share my food, recipes and experiences.

One thought on “Extra large misshapen mixed chocolate cookies”

Leave a Reply

