Smoked haddock chowder

20120811-144820.jpg

Summer weather (now that we’re experiencing 2 days of sunshine in England) makes me want to eat lots of seafood – so after my morning class and waiting in a stupidly long queue to pick up a letter from the post office (V festival tickets – yay!) I stopped off at the fish stall.

One of the things I got was some Scottish smoked haddock and set out making this chowder as soon as I got home. (arguably, chowder is a better dish to warm you up when it’s cold outside but I’ll stick to my original premise is summer and seafood going hand in hand)

If you’d like to make this chowder you will (for 2):
– 2 rashers streaky bacon, chopped
– a small chopped onion
– 300 ml cream
– 100 ml milk
– 2 potatoes, peeled and cut into cubes
– 100 ml water or fish stock
– 1 bay leaf, shredded
– a handful of chopped fresh parsley
– a squeeze of lemon

And here’s the method:

– Fry the bacon and onion in a little butter
– Put your potato cubes into the microwave in a bowl with a splash I water and loosely covered with cling film for 5 minutes, this will save you time later
– Once the onion is soft add the cream, milk, stock or water, potatoes and bay leaf to the pan. Bring to the boil and then simmer for 5 minutes
– flake in the haddock and warm through
– add a squeeze of lemon, and some lemon zest if you’ve got it, season (with the bacon and smoked haddock it will be quite salty already) and throw in the parsley

Serve with crusty bread and enjoy

Published by

Christina Hunter

I'm a personal trainer who loves to cook and eat so I started a blog to share my food, recipes and experiences.

Leave a Reply

