Double chocolate chilli cookies

20120820-142500.jpg

I had a really tasty strawberry and chilli cocktail at The Marylebone a week ago (Strawberry fields), which got me thinking about what other foods I can add chilli to. Chocolate and chilli are known to go well together so I spent my Sunday evening baking these double chocolate chilli cookies as an experiment.

I used a tweaked version of Jamie Oliver’s basic cookie recipe out of his Ministry of Food book, which was essentially mixing the following together with an electric whisk:
– 125g butter (softened)
– 125g wholemeal flour
– 1 tsp baking power
– 100g sugar
– 1 egg
– 1 tbsp cocoa powder

I then mixed in 100g of chopped dairy milk in with a spoon and a tablespoon on cayenne pepper and tasted. I wasn’t sure if they had enough chilli in, so added a few drops of tabasco and mixed again.

Following Jamie O’s advice, I put the cookie dough into a long sausage shape onto cling film and popped it into the freezer for 30 minutes. 45 minutes later (after I’d forgotten about it for a little bit) I sliced the dough into around 1cm thick slices, put on grease proof-papered baking tray and baked for 10 minutes on 200 deg.

I was really pleased with how the cookies kept their shape – as opposed to the ones that melted into each other last week. Also very pleased with the taste – chocolately with a warm glow from the chilli at the back of your mouth afterwards!

Published by

Christina Hunter

I'm a personal trainer who loves to cook and eat so I started a blog to share my food, recipes and experiences.

2 thoughts on “Double chocolate chilli cookies”

  1. Not being a fan of chocolate but a big fan of spice I was so impressed with the outcome of this recipe. I’d pay good money for something that tastes this exciting. Sweet and spicey – something Peter jones would invest in given the chance I’m sure!

Leave a Reply

