Carrot cake with cream cheese frosting

20120829-193627.jpg

I’m enjoying a baking recently, maybe I’ve been inspired by the return of the Great British Bake Off on BBC2.

I used the excuse of my colleague’s birthday (OK, he’s my boss so going for full on brownie points) to bake a carrot cake. I’ve never made one before so I visited my absolute favourite blog Smitten Kitchen to find a recipe – as ever Deb did not disappoint. I used her carrot cake recipe , using wholegrain flour.

20120829-194733.jpg

For the frosting I mixed low fat cream cheese (around 200g) with half a teaspoon vanilla essence and lots of icing sugar (around 1 cup, or a little over – just keep tasting until it’s sweet enough).

Topped off with mixed dried fruit and nuts (idea taken from my friend Andrea, who makes the best carrot cake).

20120829-223821.jpg

Published by

Christina Hunter

I'm a personal trainer who loves to cook and eat so I started a blog to share my food, recipes and experiences.

One thought on “Carrot cake with cream cheese frosting”

Leave a Reply

