chewy apple flapjacks

Chelmsford-20121111-00026.jpg

I have been slowly working my way through the load of apples recently given to me by a friend. I’ve made toffee apple crumble, an attempt at a tarte tatin but I burnt my caramel because I didn’t have the patience to cook it slowly so it was rusty-black and really bitter, stewed apples to go in my porridge, and some apple and oat cookie/flapjack cross which I forgot to take a picture of to blog, which is just as well as they were ok tasting but a bit dry.

I think I might have hit the jackpot with these chewy apple flapjacks. If you’d like to make some, here’s how.

You will need
– 80g butter
– 125g brown sugar
– 125g golden syrup
– milk
– 300g oats
– 500g cooking apples
– 25g caster sugar
– 2tbsp lemon juice
– ground ginger (nutmeg, cinnamon, ground cloves and allspice would also work well)
– flaked almonds (a nice touch if you’ve got some but not essential, walnuts would be good with the apples to if they’re what you have at home)

With all baking, step number 1 is to heat your oven – 180 degrees.

You first need to make your flapjack mix:
Melt 80g of butter in a pan with 125g of brown sugar, 125g of golden syrup and 5tbsp milk.

Once all melted, add 300g of oats and mix well – your flapjack mix is ready. Put half of it into a baking tray and cook in the oven for 20minutes.

While it’s cooking, make the apple filling by cooking 500g of cored, peeled and chopped cooking apples in a pan with the juice of half a lemon, 25g caster sugar and 1/2 tsp of ground ginger until they are pulpy.

Spread the apples on top of your baked flapjack, mix some almond flakes into the rest of the flapjack mix and layer on top of the apple pulp (a bit like a sandwich, with flapjack as bread). Put back into the oven for another 20minutes and it is done.

Leave your flapjack to cool before cutting into squares.

Published by

Christina Hunter

I'm a personal trainer who loves to cook and eat so I started a blog to share my food, recipes and experiences.

3 thoughts on “chewy apple flapjacks”

Leave a Reply

