Pancakes with asparagus and hollandaise sauce

Chelmsford-20130204-00152_1360050619518_l.jpg

With Pancake Tuesday coming up (actually, I thought it was yesterday) and some hollandaise sauce to use up, this is what I had for dinner on Monday.

I always make pancakes using the really easy mug method:
1 mug flour
1 mug milk
1 egg
A pinch of sugar

All mixed together with a hand blender, although you could use a hand whisk or a even a fork if you didn’t have one.

Pour a little mixture into a hot, oiled pan and leave for a minute or so (you should see a few air bubbles) before flipping over and repeating on the other side.

In the meantime, I put the asparagus in a shallow bowl with a couple of teaspoons of water, covered with cling film and microwaved for 2 minutes.

Finally, the leftover hollandaise sauce – I wasn’t sure who to best warm this up. There wasn’t enough to put in a pan, so I put it in the microwave on defrost for around 15 seconds, checked it and then PANICKED! The sauce had split!

Stirring vigorously didn’t help much, I squeezed some lemon juice in and stirred vigorously a bit more…what do you know, it actually worked!

Sauce saved (and warmish, I didn’t risk heating it any more), I wrapped the asparagus spears in the pancakes, poured the hollandaise liberally on top, and dug in.

Published by

Christina Hunter

I'm a personal trainer who loves to cook and eat so I started a blog to share my food, recipes and experiences.

Leave a Reply

