onion bhajis

onion bhajis

Anyone who knows me knows that Fridays are for curries in our household. A spicy tikka masala has become our staple, this week accompanied by onion bhajis.

Making a bhaji is pretty easy, you mix your ingredients together with some flour and a dash of water, with a tablespoon and then you’re hand is best, until a good consistency to stick together and form balls (although not too perfect, any bits sticking out become nice and crunchy).

Fry the bhajis in hot oil for around 5 minutes, or until crispy.

bhaji ingredients

Ingredients

1 quartered and thinly sliced onion
1 grated carrot
3cm finely grated fresh ginger
1 grated (or crushed) clove of garlic
1/2 red chilli, finely chopped
a bunch of fresh coriander, chopped
1 tsp cumin seeds
1 tsp coriander seeds
1 tsp mustard seeds
1/4 tsp tumeric
salt & pepper

Serve with sprinkled with fresh chopped coriander and a squeeze of lemon.

Published by

Christina Hunter

I'm a personal trainer who loves to cook and eat so I started a blog to share my food, recipes and experiences.

2 thoughts on “onion bhajis”

    1. Thanks! I just use white flour, plain or self raising (whatever I’ve got in the cupboard). Sometime I add a tsp of baking soda because in my mind it will make a light batter, although I’m not sure how true that is!

Leave a Reply

