Home made energy bars & why I’m running the London Marathon

Chelmsford-20130227-00207_1361950218102_l.jpg

I have had to have a rethink about my diet – from a focus on weight maintenance and loss I am now thinking about what I need to eat to give my body energy. The reason for this is 3 weeks ago the Cystic Fibrosis Trust got in touch to say someone had dropped out of running the Virgin London Marathon and would I like the place?

I had applied to get into the marathon last year, not getting a place via the ballot or the cf trust, so had comfortably accepted that it was not something I was going to do and pretty much ignored any running apart from the odd 5k (3miles). At the point of call the marathon was 10 weeks away – 10 WEEKS! I felt a little sick but know that it is doable, I accepted the place not just for the personal challenge but because running for the cf trust is important to me, and here’s the reasons why…

1. My husband suffers from cystic fibrosis.
This makes the cause very personal to me, my immediate family and close friends. People sometimes ask me what that means, and I never know what to say. It means many things, his day to day management of the condition means enzymes every time he eats, nebulisers 3 times a day and he has to keep fit to ensure mucus doesn’t settle in his lungs.
These are some things but not everything, but the key thing is that its only a part of him, he does not let is define himself.

2. The research into finding a cure for cystic fibrosis will benefit us all.
Cf is a genetic disease, currently you cannot cure it, only manage your symptoms. The research into gene therapy to cure the disease, funded through the cf trust, is world leading – if it is successful who knows what other genetic diseases it could be applied to?

3. Science is amazing.
From my understanding, gene therapy is administered orally. People are drinking something and somehow it changes their genes – that blows my mind.

If you agree that these are good reasons to be running 26.2 miles and would like to make a donation to the cf trust, please do visit my Justgiving page:

Screen Shot 2013-02-28 at 21.45.23

If you would like to make some home made energy bars (they are essentially flapjacks), the recipe is below. I have it on good authority that they are delicious.

– Melt 130g of butter in a largish pan on a low heat with 130g of brown sugar and 2tbs honey
– once melted, take off the heat and mix in 200g of oats
– mix in other energy foods – I went for a couple of handfuls salted peanuts (hoping for a salty/sweet combo, although the salt was lost) and a handful of almonds
– chopped dried fruit would be tasty in these, as well as seasame seeds, flaxseeds, other nuts and chocolate chips, basically whatever you want/have in the cupboard
– press into a greaseproofed tray (I think mine is approx 20x20cm) and bake for 25-30mins on 180 degrees
– once cooled, cut into bars and eat a couple of hours before exercising (or for breakfast)

Next time I make these I’ll add some ground ginger or cinnamon to the mix – unless I forget (again).

Chelmsford-20130227-00206_1361949834701_l.jpg

Published by

Christina Hunter

I'm a personal trainer who loves to cook and eat so I started a blog to share my food, recipes and experiences.

4 thoughts on “Home made energy bars & why I’m running the London Marathon”

  1. The energy bars look amazing, I might make some this evening! Good luck with the marathon and great cause – maybe I’ll see you on the way round!

Leave a Reply

