Prawn ravioli with creamy basil sauce

Chelmsford-20130512-00334.jpg

After a couple of weeks of silence, my ‘coming back’ recipe is a new one for me, that I’ve wanted to try for a while. It’s an easy enough recipe but takes a little while because of the different bits that need to be done.

First, you have to make the pasta, by mixing:
– 200g grade ’00’ flour
– a pinch of salt
– 2 eggs
– 2 tablespoons olive oil

Once all are mixed to form a dough, wrap the dough in cling film and put it in the fridge for around an hour.

In the meantime, I made the filling fo the ravioli by mixing together:
– 200g raw prawns
– 2 minced cloves of garlic
– 1/2 of a boursin cheese
– 1 egg yolk

Once the pasta was ready, I used my pasta machine to roll out and flatten 2 long strips of pasta, a few millimetres thick and around 5cm wide. I put a line of filling along the long edge of the pasta, dampened the edge with water and folded over the pasta sheet. Once folded over, I pinched the ravioli into shape and cut them out with a knife. I left them to dry for a couple of hours (although I don’t know if this is necessary).

Once ready, cooked in boiling water for 3 minutes.

The basil sauce is made with s fried shallot, 250ml of cream simmered for 5 minutes and a large handful of basil, all blended with the hand blender.

Published by

Christina Hunter

I'm a personal trainer who loves to cook and eat so I started a blog to share my food, recipes and experiences.

Leave a Reply

