Home made pesto

basil plant

A couple of years ago a friend told me that home made pesto was really easy to make, although it took me until today to finally give it a try…she was right!

You need to have a liquidiser or a hand blender (I used a hand blender). Throw in:
– a big handful of basil
– a small garlic clove (I used a big one, and it was a overpowering)
– the juice of half a lemon
– 2 tbsp olive oil
– salt & pepper

Blend until smooth.

IMG_1176

Ta-da! (or should I say hey-pesto?) Your pesto is ready for you to use as you wish…
…you could cook a piece of fish with a pesto herb crust
…you could use it to make a toasted cheese and tomato sandwich a little posh
…you could serve it with pasta

I served mine with courgette ribbon pasta, a dash of cream and chopped up a little both fresh and sun dried tomatoes.

IMG_1178

Published by

Christina Hunter

I'm a personal trainer who loves to cook and eat so I started a blog to share my food, recipes and experiences.

One thought on “Home made pesto”

  1. Hello!

    My name is Joanna and I have read your blog and I really liked your recipes! I work for a website called myTaste.com and I would love for you to join us!

    http://www.mytaste.com is a search engine that collects food blogs. We already have over 3000 blogs and if you join us you will take benefit from the trafic that we are sending to your blog.

    Add our widget and hopefully with your recipes your blog will be on the top of the food blogs list!
    If you have any questions please don’t hesitate to contact me at info@mytaste.com

    To join myTaste, just go to http://www.mytaste.com/add-your-food-blog

    Best regards, Joanna
    mytaste.com

Leave a Reply

